Indian Nobel Prize Winners

In this article, we will come across all the Indian Nobel Prize Winners who made India proud.

Indian Nobel Prize Winners

What is a Nobel Prize?

The Nobel Prize is one of the most prestigious award in the world. It is named after a  Swedish businessman and philanthropist, Alfred Nobel. The Nobel Prize is  bestowed on “those who conferred the greatest benefit on humankind”. The categories of the prizes are:

The Nobel prize award ceremony started in the year 1901, and even today, it is considered to be the most distinguished honor. Among the total number of the Nobel Prize recipients, there are 9 Indian Nobel Prize Winners.  

Did You Know Facts About Indian Nobel prize?

Who are the Indian Nobel Prize Winners?

List of Noble Prize Winners From India

Listed below are the Nobel Prize Winners From India
Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Abhijit Vinayak Banerjee

(1961- Present)

Banerjee the recent Indian to join the Indian Nobel Prize winners list. He is an Indian-born American economist who is currently the Ford Foundation International Professor of Economics at MIT.

He was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences in 2019 alongside Esther Duflo and Michael Kremer “for their experimental approach to alleviating global poverty.” Recently, this Nobel prize winner from India, Abhijit Banerjee launched an English translation of a Bengali poetry along with Nandana Dev Sen.

Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Kailash Satyarthi

(1954- Present)

Satyarthi is an Indian social reformer who fought against child labor in India. He and Malala Yousafzai shared the Nobel Peace Prize in 2014 “for their struggle against the suppression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education.” He founded a number of social activist groups, like Bachpan Bachao Andolan, Global March Against Child Labor, more for which he is added to the Indian Nobel Prize Winners list. 

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

Venkatraman Ramakrishnan

(1952- Present)

Venkatraman is an Indian-born British-American structural biologist who, along with Thomas A. Steitz and Ada Yonath, shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2009 for “studies of the structure and function of the ribosome.” He is born in a district in Tamil Nadu to a family where both his parents were scientists. 

Amartya Sen

Amartya Sen

(1933- Present)

Sen is an economist and philosopher from India who has made contributions to welfare economics, social choice theory, economic and social justice, famine economics, decision theory, growth economics, more.

His work “for his contributions to welfare economics” won him the Nobel Memorial Prize in 1998 and India’s Bharat Ratna in 1999. He is the fourth person to add up in the Indian Nobel Prize winners list. Recently in 2021, this Indian Nobel prizewinner has also been awarded the top Spanish award in social sciences category.

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

Subrahmanyan Chandrasekhar

(1936- 1995)

He was an American Indian astrophysicist who has been in the United States for his professional life. With William A. Fowler, he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Physics for “theoretical studies of the important physical processes of star structure and evolution.”

He joined the list of Nobel Prize winners in India in 1983. His mathematical approach to stellar evolution gave many of the later theoretical examples of massive stars and black holes.

Mother Teresa

Mother Teresa

(1910- 1997)

Mother Teresa was a Roman Catholic and missionary Indian-Albanian nun. She devoted her whole life to supporting and raising the needy and the poor. Teresa founded Missionary where members vowed to give “full free service to the poorest of the poor.”

In 1979, she received a Noble Peace Prize “in recognition of [her] work in bringing help to suffering humanity”. She was the first Indian woman to be added in the list of Indian Nobel Prize winners.

Har Gobind Khurana

Har Gobind Khurana

(1922- 2011)

The Indian American Biochemist Har Gobind Khorana along with  Marshall W. Nirenberg and Robert W. Holley were awarded the Nobel Prize for physiology or medicine in 1968 while he was the faculty of Wisconsin-Madison, “for their interpretation of the genetic code and its function of protein synthesis.” 

Sri Chandrashekhara Venkata Raman

C.V. Raman

(1888- 1970)

Raman was a physicist from India who was best known for his work in the field of light scattering. With his student K. S. Krishnan, he discovered that some of the deflected light changes wavelength and amplitude when light passes through a transparent material.

He was the first Asian to be awarded a Nobel Prize in all fields of science “for his work on the scattering of light and for the discovery of the effect named after him in 1930.” He was the second of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners.

Rabindranath Tagore

Rabindranath Tagore

(1861- 1941)

Tagore was an author, playwright, musician, philosopher, social reformer, and painter in addition to being a poet. With Contextual Modernism, he reshaped Bengali literature and music, as well as Indian art.

He was the first Asian to win the Nobel Prize for Literature in 1913 “Because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West.” He is the first one to add up in the list of Nobel prize Winners from India.

Who are the other Nobel Prize Winners from India?

These Nobel Prize Winners from India were born in India or were residents in India but not Indians citizens.

dalai Lama

One of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners in Peace, “For his consistent resistance to the use of violence in his people’s struggle to regain their liberty.”


One of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners in Literature, “In consideration of the power of observation, originality of imagination, virility of ideas and remarkable talent for narration which characterize the creations of this world-famous author.”


One of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners in Physiology or Medicine, “For his work on malaria, by which he has shown how it enters the organism and thereby has laid the foundation for successful research on this disease and methods of combating it.”

Podcasts on the Indian Nobel Prize Winners?

The best way to know about the Indian Nobel prize winners is to listen to their life history and achievements. 

C.V. Raman: One of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners to receive a Nobel Prize in Physics

Dalai Lama: One of the Indian Nobel Prize Winners to receive a Nobel Peace Prize

Rabindranath Tagore: First Indian Nobel Prize Winner to receive a Nobel Prize in Literature

Mother Teresa: One of the Indian Nobel Peace Prize Winners

More podcasts on Indian Nobel Prize Winners are coming soon!

FAQ'S about Indian Nobel Prize Winners

Rabindranath Tagore was the first Indian Nobel Prize winner.

India has own 12 Nobel Prizes.

The first Indian woman Nobel Prize winner was Mother Teresa.

10 December, on the anniversary of Nobel’s death. 

Sri Chandrashekhara Venkata Raman is the second Indian Nobel Prize winner.

No, Gandhi did not win a Nobel Prize

Similar content for you: